If you have received a reckless driving ticket, you should not treat it like a ticket for running a red light or similar traffic infractions. Many people commit this mistake, plead guilty and accept the penalties. However, this is one of the biggest mistakes you can make in your life. A conviction from a Class 1 misdemeanor offense like reckless driving carries heavy legal penalties as well as severe personal consequences. It comes with a permanent criminal record that is going to affect your life forever. However, with the help of experienced Dinwiddie County VA reckless driving lawyers, you can fight these charges and possibly convince the court to reduce the charges or dismiss them altogether.

Since most of the actions associated with reckless driving are not always malicious or intentional, most offenders are not aware they are violating the law. Furthermore, the legal system is both confusing and complex. You might be arraigned in court, and you are not even sure what constitutes a reckless driving offense. That’s why you require a skilled reckless driving lawyer, who has handled similar cases before. Our competent Dinwiddie County VA reckless driving lawyers will evaluate every aspect of your case and then try to assess whether you were lawfully charged.

We understand that your future is on the line, and we will, therefore, do everything possible to ensure the outcome of the case has the least consequences. At Joyner Law PLLC, we pursue every avenue available to protect our clients and maintain their clean reputation. Every reckless driving case is unique. We will, therefore, need to understand the facts and evidence presented in your case so that we can strategize on the way forward. When you come for your free consultation, ensure you provide as much information as possible and answer all the questions asked, so that our attorneys are not overwhelmed with new information during trial.

Reckless Driving Dinwiddie County Virginia

Various traffic offenses are considered as reckless driving in Virginia. These violations include reckless driving by speed, failing to give way to an emergency vehicle, failing to signal, and aggressive driving like weaving in and out of traffic. Other violations that fall under reckless driving include passing a stopped school bus with flashing lights, driving a faulty vehicle or vehicle not in proper control, passing a vehicle at a railroad crossing, driving with an obstructed view and causing an accident. Any of these violations can land you in jail if you are unfortunate enough to be convicted. Our Dinwiddie County VA reckless driving lawyers can help you through this process, as you attempt to clear your name from these grave changes.

Speed is one of the most common traffic violations in Virginia. If you are lucky, you can get away with a warning. In other situations, you will receive a normal speeding ticket, which you can pre-pay via mail and continue with your normal life. However, that is not always the case. Speeding at 20 mph over the posted speed limit or driving at 80 mph regardless of the posted speed limit amounts to reckless driving. You can also be charged with reckless driving by speed if the officers feel you are driving too fast for conditions. Reckless driving is common in the roadways of Virginia, and the traffic police officers are always on the lookout for offenders. When you have been charged with reckless driving by speed, you will face the same penalties as those charged with DUI, theft, and assault, since all these offenses are Class 1 misdemeanor criminal charges. You, therefore, need to hire seasoned Dinwiddie County VA reckless driving lawyers to represent you during the case. Our reckless driving lawyers will assess the circumstances that led to your arrest and then craft a solid defense strategy. There is no excuse for speeding at 80 mph unless it’s an emergency situation. Therefore, if it was an emergency case, then you should be ready to provide a detailed explanation of that in court.

You can also be charged with reckless driving in Virginia for causing an accident. No specific law outlines reckless driving by accident. However, you can be charged under two codes. First, there is general reckless driving. This statute defines reckless driving as driving in a manner that endangers life, limb or property. It is mainly used in the event of an accident. The second code is failing to maintain control of your vehicle or driving with faulty brakes. Just like general reckless driving, you can only be charged under this code when you have caused an accident. The officer who arrives at the crime scene will assess the situation and collect witness statements. If it was a case of your vehicle failing to stop properly, then you will be charged with reckless driving by accident. In some situations, it might not have been your fault to cause an accident. However, the law has to be followed, and it doesn’t matter how the accident happened. Someone will have to be charged with the offense. In the unfortunate event that you are charged with reckless driving by accident, consult a criminal defense attorney immediately. A lawyer will advise you on what to do.

Driving with an obstructed view is also considered as reckless driving in Virginia. When you load or overload your vehicle to a point where you obstruct the side or rearview mirrors, then you can be charged with reckless driving. Other common ways that can lead to these charges include loading lumber, furniture, trash or other material hanging out of the sides of the vehicle, thus making it difficult for drivers to see the road. Police usually capture images or footage of your vehicle and use that as evidence in court. They argue that the act of overloading can lead to improper control or poor vision, thus leading to accidents. Also, three people occupying the front seat can also lead to reckless driving charges, if your vehicle is a two-seater.

If you live in the Commonwealth of Virginia and you operate or own a vehicle, then you should abide by certain regulations and rules on the road. These regulations and rules are in place to maintain order and to keep everyone safe on the roads. As much as it is important to observe safe driving, it is equally important to make sure the vehicle you are driving is safe to everyone, including the driver, the occupants as well as other road users. In Dinwiddie County Virginia, you can be charged with reckless driving if your vehicle exhibits defective brakes, defective wheels, defective tires, defective steering mechanisms, and any other defect that might affect the safe operation of the vehicle. If you are found guilty of reckless driving by an unsafe vehicle, it is almost impossible to drive again, unless those defects have been rectified. However, you can be taking your vehicle for routine maintenance and repairs, and it ends up with problems on the road. That’s why you need a reckless driving lawyer to argue out your case. You may not have a deep understanding of what constitutes reckless driving by faulty vehicle. Without this knowledge, you might rush to plead guilty and accept the charges. As you do this, you might not be aware that any reckless driving charge amounts to a criminal case, with severe consequences. As soon as you have been charged, contact our reckless driving attorneys to advise you on the best way forward.

Penalties for Reckless Driving

The Commonwealth of Virginia takes reckless driving charges as serious criminal offenses. The courts, therefore, have the power to hand out severe penalties to those convicted of reckless driving. These penalties include a fine of up to $2,500, suspension of driving license and a jail term of up to one year. You may also receive six demerit points on your driving record, which can affect your driving privileges especially if you have incurred demerit points before. If you incur 12 demerit points within 12 months, then it’s mandatory to attend a driver improvement course. An accumulation of 18 demerit points within a calendar year leads to a suspension of driving privileges for around 90 days. Penalties for reckless driving can also increase due to various circumstances. For example, if you are caught driving with a revoked or suspended license or if your actions led to the death of another person, then you will be charged with a Class 6 felony instead of a misdemeanor. You also need to note that a reckless driving conviction comes with a permanent criminal record. If you in the process of seeking employment or education, then you might lose that opportunity, due to the criminal record. Also, a reckless driving conviction remains on your driving record for at least 11 years. It will, therefore, make it difficult to pass background checks, especially when you are applying for car insurance. The insurance provider may, therefore, decide to raise your insurance premiums above the normal rates, due to your criminal record. As you can see, the implications that come with a reckless driving conviction will follow you long after the case has been concluded.

Experienced Reckless Driving Lawyers

When it comes to reckless driving charges, you can only trust one law firm with your case, and that is Joyner Law PLLC. We have handled cases similar to what you are facing before, and we know what to expect when the case heads to trial. Our attorneys are court-specific. We use this approach to ensure every case is handled with the seriousness it deserves. Therefore, your case will be handled by someone who is experienced when it comes to Dinwiddie County courts. When you are facing reckless driving charges, you might be feeling uncomfortable about the situation and the process itself. However, we are here to assure you that we will protect your rights, ensure you get a fair hearing during the trial and do the best we can to secure a positive result in your case. If you are facing these charges for the first time, you might be feeling worried and stressed, especially when you consider the possibility of spending time in jail. Allow us to handle this case, so that you can concentrate on other matters. Most people facing reckless driving charges in Dinwiddie County, VA, assume it’s like any other traffic infraction, and they will not require a lawyer. As much as retaining an attorney is not compulsory, reckless driving charges carry severe penalties. If convicted, you will have to pay fines of up to $2,500. There is also the possibility of a jail term as well as suspension of driving privileges. You might, therefore, end up paying the price due to your ignorance and assumptions. As much as we can’t guarantee results to any client, working with our seasoned Dinwiddie County VA reckless driving lawyers gives you a better chance of fighting these charges and obtaining a favorable outcome. Most of the lawyers will find are only interested in your money. However, at Joyner Law PLLC, we are mainly interested in working for your best interests. The consequences that arise from a reckless driving conviction cannot be compared with money. Therefore, trust us to handle your case, and you can rest assured that we will do everything possible to secure a positive result.

Contact Us Today

Our reckless driving attorneys understand the seriousness of these charges, as well as the amount of stress and anxiety that you might be going through. However, being charged with reckless driving should not give you sleepless nights. It is not the end of the world either, as much as you might feel that way. On the other hand, reckless driving is not a simple traffic infraction. It is considered as a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense. You are therefore staring at the potential of spending time in jail if you happen to be convicted. You will also end up with a criminal record, which can jeopardize your opportunities. We, therefore, understand why you are feeling nervous about this whole situation. The good news is that a reckless driving lawyer can help you to navigate this complex process and mitigate the consequences. If you are facing reckless driving charges, contact our reckless driving attorneys today, and we will answer all your questions.